'On 14th March 1892, Aberdonians on the top deck of a horse-drawn tram, heading for the Bridge of Don must have thought they were dreaming. For there, in the University playing fields behind King's College, was a group of ladies, playing organised golf for the first time.'
So Aberdeen Ladies' Golf Club was born. However its tenancy at the University was short-lived and by the following year the club had moved to its current location next to Royal Aberdeen Golf Club on Balgownie Links where it continues to provide the north-east of Scotland with a unique Ladies Club with access to one of the most demanding Links courses in Scotland.
Over the years the clubhouse has been enlarged and improved to become the pleasantly bright building we know today. The original 6-hole 'Ladies' Course' has become the 18-hole Silverburn Course and members play both Silverburn and the Championship Course through an arrangement with Royal Aberdeen Golf Club.
For any further information about the club, its history, membership or facilities, please contact ALGC.